Award-winning primary pupils pick up their prize in Parliament!

Stephen met up with staff and pupils from Oakfield Primary – who were in Parliament this week to pick up a national award.

The school was presented with the prize for ‘Best Breakfast Club in Wales’, at the Kellogg’s Breakfast Club Awards on Tuesday.

Stephen meets Oakfield Primary pupils in Parliament.

Stephen meets Oakfield Primary pupils in Parliament.

Judges were impressed by the dedicated work of both staff and pupils in ensuring the success of the club, and awarded them the £1500 prize which will be spent on outdoor games equipment.

Stephen said: “Congratulations to the staff and youngsters from Oakfield Primary, who thoroughly deserve their award.

“A healthy breakfast is the best way to set children up for a day of learning and enjoyment, and the club at Oakfield is clearly proving a huge success.  The prize money will help staff provide even more great opportunities for the youngsters!”

Oakfield head-teacher David Harris said: “We’re so delighted to win this award. What better way to reward the contribution from our staff and children than with a ceremony at the Houses of Parliament. It’s something Oakfield Primary School will always remember.”

The prize was presented by Sharon Hodgson MP, chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on School Food.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *